Academic Advisory Council PDF Print E-mail

Acting as a forum for the exchange of ideas between the University and various sectors of society, the Academic Advisory Council first met on 21 February 2003.  The council provides guidance and strategic direction for the development of the University, from international collaboration to staff development and consultancy – to be in tandem with the University’s vision and mission.  Council members are appointed by the University’s Board of Directors and meet at least once a year.




Y. A. Bhg. Tun Dr. Mahathir Bin Mohamad

Local Members

Datuk Ir. (Dr) Hj Ahmad Zaidee Laidin
Vice President,
Academy of Sciences Malaysia

Tan Sri Zarinah Anwar
Former Chairman,
Securities Commission Malaysia

Puan Juniwati Rahmat Hussin
Vice President and Venture Director

Puan Raiha Azni Abd Rahman
Vice President,
Human Resource Management

Datuk Ir (Dr) Abdul Rahim Hj Hashim
Vice Chancellor / CEO,
Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS

International Members

Prof. Lord Kumar Bhattacharyya
Director of WMG, University of Warwick

Prof. Dr David B. Prior
Executive Vice President & Provost, Hamad bin Khalifa University, Qatar

Prof. Dr. Feng Da Hsuan
Vice President for Global Strategy, Development and Evaluation),
National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan

Prof. Dr. Deo Karan Prasad
University of New South Wales

Prof Dr Haruo Takeda
Corporate Chief Engineer,
Hitachi, Ltd, Japan

Prof Dr Jeom Kee Paik
President of The Ship and Offshore Research Institute, Pusan National University,
KOSORI (Korean Ship & Offshore Research Institute) and IOGS (International Offshore Graduate School)

Prof Dr Choon Fong Shih
Former Founding President,
King Abdullah University of Science & Technology (KAUST)

Dr Terje Martin Halmø
Risavika Gas Centre DA, Norway