Mission Oriented Research in Enhanced Oil Recovery (MOR EOR)

MOR EOR General

Enhanced Oil Recovery is defined by EOR experts as any method that increases oil production by using techniques or materials that are not part of normal pressure maintenance or waterflooding operations. The multidisciplinary MOR EOR group engages on the entire spectrum of research spanning from Geology through drilling and finally on EOR recovery methods in order that this method has a higher success rate.

MOR EOR Vission

  • The vision of the MOR EOR is to be internationally recognized as a research group that excels in R&D.

MOR EOR Mission

  • To develop and improve reservoir characterization and recovery methods in EOR that will increase the recovery factor.



There are 4 Centers of Research under the MOR. CSI, CBS and SEACARL are centers that engage in various kinds of research that enhance our understanding of the reservoirs. The EOR centre focuses on EOR techniques.


Research projects are in the form of short term, contract research, multimillion Ringgit PRF funds, internally funded research that range from RM25,000 to RM500,000 and research using other funds such as international funds, funds from companies and the Malaysian government agencies.

The following are among the various investigations that are on-going in the MOR:

  • CSI
    • Improving Seismic Resolution in Detecting Thin Stacked Pay Hydrocarbon Sand in Malay and Adjacent Basins by Innovative Signal Enhancement and Attributes
    • Seismic Interferometry Using Virtual Sources For Optimum Illumination And Imaging Bellow Complex Overburden
    • Seismic Anisotropy Imaging for Deep Reservoir and Fracture Basement  (current)
  • CBR
  • EOR
    • Reservoir characterisation, Rock-fluid interactions, (wettability, capillarity etc.) fluid-fluid interactions (emulsions, precipitation etc)improving sweep efficiencies (relative permeability modification, injection strategies, change in viscosity and viscoelasticity etc.) ,increasing miscibilities, reduction of IFT,
    • Simulation and modelling (EOS, micromodels etc.)
    • Screening of chemicals for various functions (for reducing IFT, increasing miscibilities, improving mobility ratio, producing stable emulsions, stable foams etc.), optimisation of chemical synthesis
    • Materials (high temperature injection wells, corrosion effects on tubings etc)



  1. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Eswaran Padmanabhan (MOR EOR Director)
  2. Prof. Dr. Christopher Lenn (Head of EOR Center)
  3. Prof Dr Deva Prasad Ghosh (Head of CSI)
  4. Prof. Dr. Abdul Ghani Md Rafek
  5. Prof. Dr. Mariyamni Awang
  6. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Isa M Tan
  7. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ismail B M Saeed
  8. Assoc Prof Askury b Abd Kadir
  9. Ir. Abd Aziz Omar
  10. Dr. Sonny Irawan
  11. Ali Fikret Menghi
  12. Saleem Tunio
  13. Mazuin Bt Jasamai
  14. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Muhammad Talib Shuker
  15. William Pao King Soon
  16. Assoc. Prof. Wan Ismail Wan Yusoff
  17. Ali F. Mangi
  18. Dr Hassan Soleimani
  19. Assoc. Prof. Dr. A Hadi B A Rahman
  20. Khairul Arifin Mohd Noh
  21. Raja Rajeswary A/P Suppiah
  22. Mohd Nur Fitri Ismail
  23. Nurul Hasan
  24. Iskandar B Dzulkanain
  25. Dr. Khaled Abdalla Elraies
  26. Muhammad Aslam bin Md Yusof
  27. Dr Syahrir Ridha
  28. Nor Sara Izzatti Bt Bashah
  29. Luluan Almanna Lubis
  30. Dr Rashidah Mohd Pilus
  31. Berihun Mamo Negash
  32. Mohamad Shaufi Bin Sokiman
  33. Nur Asyraf bt Md Akhir
  34. Siti Sarah Binti Salehudin
  35. Noor Ilyana Ismail
  36. Assoc Prof Dr Menier David Jean Claude
  37. Dr Sulaimon Aliyu Adebayor
  38. Assoc Prof Dr Syed Mohammad Mahmood
  39. Dr Mohd Suhaili B Ismail
  40. Dr Sia Chee Wee
  41. Dr Mohammed Abdalla Ayoub Mohammed
  42. Khor Wei Chung
  43. Dr Solomon Kassa Feleke
  44. Choong Chee Meng
  45. Nur Huda Bt Mohd Jamin
  46. Muhammad Noor Amin B Zakariah
  47. Dr Ahmed Mohamed Ahmed Salim
  48. Azeb Demise Habte
  49. Assoc Prof Dr Jose Antonio Gamez Vintaned
  50. Dr Mohammed Idrees Ali
  51. Md Yazid bin Mansor [Industry Expert (PETRONAS)]
  52. Dr Shiferaw Regassa Jufar
  53. Dr Mohamed Mahbubur Rahman
  54. Dr Abdul Haque Tunio
  55. Abdul Halim Abdul Latiff
  56. Nor Syazwani Bt Zainal Abidin
  57. Siti Nur Fathiyah Bt Jamaludin
  58. Niraku Rosmawati Bt Ahmad
  59. AP Dr Hussain Hammud Ja'afer Al-Kayiem
  60. Dr Dereje Engida Woldemichael
  61. AP Dr Chandra Mohan K V
  62. Dr Ahmad Majdi Abdul Rani
  63. Assoc Prof Dr Xianhua Liu
  64. Ir Dr Ahmad Fadzil M.  Hani
  65. Dr Maqsood Ahmad

Administration Support Staff

  1. M Syafiq Azmi (MOR)
  2. Farah Abdul Latif (EOR)
  3. Nurlela Ahmad (SEACARL)
  4. Yasmin Rosli (CSI)


Post Doctoral Fellows

  1. Dr Yasir Ibrahim (CBS)
  2. Dr Mumtaz M Shah (SEACARL)
  3. Dr Muthuvairavasamy Ramkumar (SEACARL)


Research Officers

  1. Nurul Hanis M Ramalan (EOR)



  1. Mohamed Faiz (EOR)
  2. Iswadi Radzali (EOR)
  3. Zul Husni (CBS)

Please use this website to know more about our activities.




Content View Hits : 128946

Traffic updates

We have 2 guests online

feed-image Feed Entries

Powered by Joomla!. Designed by: Joomla 1.5 Template, com.tw domain hosting. Valid XHTML and CSS.