Deepwater Technology PDF Print E-mail
Aspiration

 

To be a deepwater R&D centre of excellence in Asia-Pacific by 2017, and the preferred partner in expertise and technology development.

 

Team Members

 

NO

NAME

EMAIL ADDRESS

1

Prof. Dr Kurian V John (Director)

kurian_john@petronas.com.my

2

AP Dr Nordin Saad

nordiss@petronas.com.my

3

AP Dr Abd Nasir Matori

nasrat@petronas.com.my

4

AP Dr Mohd Noh Karsiti

nohka@petronas.com.my

5

Dr Noor Amila Wan Abdullah

amilawa@petronas.com.my

6

Dr Saravanan Karuppanan

saravanan_karuppanan@petronas.com.my

7

AP Dr Azuraien Japper @ Jaafar

azuraien_japper@petronas.com.my

8

AP Dr Fakhruldin Mohd Hashim

fakhruldin_mhashim@petronas.com.my

9

Dr Ibrisam Akbar

ibrisam_akbar@petronas.com.my

10

Dr Muhammad Pisol  Mohd Isa

mpisolmatisa@petronas.com.my

11

Dr Hilmi Hussin

hilmi_hussin@petronas.com.my

12

Dr Mark Ovinis

mark_ovinis@petronas.com.my

13

Dr Zahiraniza Mustaffa

zahiraniza@petronas.com.my

14

Dr Masdi Muhammad

masdimuhammad@petronas.com.my

15

Dr Mohamed Nordin Zakaria

nordinzakaria@petronas.com.my

16

AP Dr Indra Sati Hamonangan Harahap

indrasati@petronas.com.my

17

Rosmawati Mat Zain

rosmawati@petronas.com.my

18

Ir Mohamed Mubarak Abdul Wahab

mubarakwahab@petronas.com.my

19

Dr Setyamartana Parman

setyamartana@petronas.com.my

20

AP Dr Mokhtar Awang

mokhtar_awang@petronas.com.my

21

Prof Dr Nagarajan Thirumalaiswamy

nagarajan_t@petronas.com.my

22

AP Ir Dr Shahir Liew

shahir_liew@petronas.com.my

23

Dr. Mohamad Zaki Abdullah

zaki_abdullah@petronas.com.my

24

Dr William Pao King Soon

william.paokings@petronas.com.my

25

Dr Dereje Engida Woldemichael

dereje.woldemichael@petronas.com.my

26

Dr Tamiru Alemu Lemma

tamiru.lemma@petronas.com.my

27

Dr Montasir Osman Ahmed Ali

montasir.ahmedali@petronas.com.my

28

Dr. Dher m. Badri Albarody

dher.albarody@petronas.com.my

29

Dr Tuan Mohammad Yusoff Shah Tuan Ya

tyusoff.ty@petronas.com.my

30

Assoc Prof Ir Dr Hj Hamdan Hj Ya

hamdan.ya@petronas.com.my

31

AP Dr Srinivasa Rao Pedapati

srinivasa.pedapati@petronas.com.my

32

AP Dr Xianhua Liu

xianhua.liu@petronas.com.my

33

Titus Ntow Ofei

titus.ofei@petronas.com.my

34

Dr Do Kyun Kim

do.kim@petronas.com.my

35

Dr Ng Cheng Yee

chengyee.ng@petronas.com.my

36

Asif Zamir

asif.zamir@petronas.com.my

37

AP Dr Abdul Rahim Othman

rahim.othman@petronas.com.my

38

AP Dr Shahrul Kamaruddin

shahrul.k@petronas.com.my

39

Dr Airil Yasreen Mohd Yassin

airil.yasreen@petronas.com.my

40

Dr Mohd Zulhilmi Paiz Ismadi

Zulhilmi.ismadi@petronas.com.my

41

AP Dr Ahmad Majdi Abdul Rani

majdi@petronas.com.my

42

AP Ir Dr Mokhtar Che Ismail

mokhtis@petronas.com.my

43

Ir Kamarudin Shehabuddeen

kamashe@petronas.com.my

44

M Zamri Abdullah

zamriab@petronas.com.my

45

AP Dr Jafreezal Jaafar

jafreez@petronas.com.my

46

Dr Sia Chee Wee

sia_cheewee@petronas.com.my

47

Dr Teh Hee Min

heemin.teh@petronas.com.my

48

Dr. Rashidah Mohd Pilus

rashidah_mp@petronas.com.my

49

Dr Kee Kok Eng

keekokeng@petronas.com.my

50

AP Dr Bambang Ari-Wahjoedi

bambang_ariwahjoedi@petronas.co

51

AP Dr Hussain H. Al-Kayiem

hussain_kayiem@petronas.com.my

52

Dr. Sonny Irawan

drsonny_irawan@petronas.com.my

53

Dr Amirhossein Malakahmad

amirhossein@petronas.com.my

54

Dr Teo Wee

teo_wee@petronas.com.my

55

Mazuin Jasamai

mazuin_jasamai@petronas.com.my

56

Prof Dr Deva Prasad Ghosh

drdeva@petronas.com.my

57

Dr Turnad Lenggo Ginta

turnad.ginta@petronas.com.my

58

Siti Sarah Salehudin

sitisarah.salehudin@petronas.com.my

59

Dr Nurul Izma Mohammed

izma.mohammed@petronas.com.my

60

Dr Syed Saad Azhar Ali

saad.azhar@petronas.com.my

61

Muhammad Noor Amin Zakariah

nooramin.zakariah@petronas.com.my

62

Nur Huda Mohd Jamin

nurhuda.jamin@petronas.com.my

63

Choong Chee Meng

choong.meng@petronas.com.my

 

General Description

 

As many of the world’s more easily accessible offshore hydrocarbon deposits have been discovered and produced successfully over the past five decades, the industry has required itself to explore in progressively more inaccessible locations in its search for further oil and gas reserves. This search has precipitated a movement into progressively deeper waters, to the point where deepwater activity has, over the past ten years, evolved from a frontier activity into an intrinsic and strategically important element of most global offshore operator’s asset portfolios.

 

The growth and development of deepwater  (defined as water depths of between 500 and 1,499 meters) and ultra-deepwater (defined as water depths of 1,500 meters and more) activity is, and is expected to remain, a key element of the continued expansion of the offshore oil and gas industry. Furthermore, the significance of this activity has been heightened by the increases in commodity prices and growing concern over future reserves and supply The surge in deep and ultra-deepwater activity has fuelled a drive by many service companies to invest in adding deepwater capability.

Indeed, there is very little of the service industry that has not been touched directly or indirectly by this push to deepwater. In spite of this added capability it still seems likely that the industry is going to reach certain choke points, particularly regarding deepwater pipe lay and heavy lift capability.

At present, the ultra-deepwater exploration limits exceed those of ultra-deepwater production, which means that at certain depths, a successful find may be technically non-exploitable. However, the expectation is that with improvements in technology, understanding and the availability of equipment more and more finds will become economically recoverable, Thus, facilitating the continued growth of the deep and ultra-deepwater sector through to the next decade and beyond.

 

 

Current Projects

 

Focus areas are:

  • Deepwater structure integrity and reliability
  • Pipeline flow assurance
  • Sub-sea systems
  • Geohazards and Geotechnic
  • Knowledge management